Dramarasmus: Transit

I’ve just watched my first ever play in German language.

Transit is a one and a half hour play presented by Dramarasmus, which is a theater project for international and local students. It is interesting to see different actors from all around the globe share their passion on one stage, speak their own language, and also, act in German. I definitely understand that it is really hard to erase the accent and I commend most of the actors for speaking clearly. Since I think most of them are not native speakers, it helps that most of the time they speak slowly. As an effect, a non-native audience like me  can really follow and somehow grasp the story.  I also love that there are some movements in between. This serves as a good transition from one play to the other. The last part is really powerful when the actors spoke German and their own native language alternately.

However, here are some points for improvement:

Acting

When it comes to acting, I personally look for the “truth.” This means that every movement that an actor does on stage should be justified and through characterization, it would be easy for an actor to differentiate the roles that he or she plays. Voice can also be used as a tool to further deepen the character so it is really a must to project one’s voice well.

If a wife removes her wedding ring in front of her husband, will she feel pain or relief? Does she feel regret or freedom?

If someone points a gun at you, what will be your expression? Will you be brave to face death or afraid that you just want to run away?

If you are a mother and wife who has some issues with your husband and there’s a chance to talk to him again, what will you feel? Do you still love him or you just want to lie?

When I watch a play, I always want to connect to the story through the actors’ acting. I want to forget that I am not in the theater, but I am with the character on his or her journey.

I think Jonas Lunte, Aleksandar Zekic, and Ana Brinzila really did a great performance.

Technicals

I think, it would be great to play a background sound or music to establish the location of the scene while it is still dark and the actors are still preparing.  This will also help the audience to better understand the scene.

I really love theater and this experience really brings a lot of memories to me. Congratulations to the whole team in Dramarasmus and maybe next time practice the curtain call 🙂 You deserve all the applause for all your hard work 🙂

If you are all in Marburg, Transit will still have shows in Wagonhalle on February 1 and 2 at 8 pm.

 

