Tracks: Decision. Journey. Destination.

My friend Argel asked me to watch the trailer of Tracks, a 2013 film based on the desert trek of Robyn Davidson or more popularly known as the “Camel Lady.” After watching the entire movie, here are some quotations from the film and the takeaways that I’ve learned:

462832169_2886136b

Robyn Davidson’s journey. Photo by Rick Smolan

“The decision to act is… the beginning of the journey.”

We are sometimes too afraid to decide and most specially to begin. Whether it’s a long journey or not, there are still some sacrifices to be considered. It might be time, money, health, and other factors. What I’ve learned about the film is once you decide to go for it (just the mere thought that you’ve committed to make one journey possible) – that is a powerful starting point of your adventure.

“I just want to be by myself.”

In this world, where technology dominates our daily routine, it’s definitely hard to drop everything and to reflect on what you’ve done, who you are, and who do you want to be.

“I’d like to think an ordinary person is capable of anything.”

Finding yourself might involve a leap of faith, which might result to a lot of criticisms, specially if you want to do something extraordinary. Davidson’s story pushes its viewers out of our comfortable bubble and inspires us to do something that we’ve been wanting to do for so long.

“If you get into trouble, there’s no shame in turning back.”

And if ever we fail, yes, there would be a lot of people who would say that “I told you.” However, there will still be people who would welcome us with open arms and tell us that “it is okay.” The quotation above is stated by her sister, before she begins her journey.

Robyn Davidson: “I’m so alone”
Rick Smolan: “We all are”

Once we start our journey, there will always be some ups and downs and somethings in-between. Fortunately or unfortunately, there will be nobody who will be there for us. There might be strangers who can lend a helping hand and pets to comfort us, but,in the end, we are alone- to decide, to continue, or to quit.

“I want to finish, what I’ve started.”

When things get really tough, people would just blurt out to stop. But I am really one with Davidson in making a stand that once you commit and give everything you have, there’s completely no point to stop.

I might have some decisions or promises in the past that I’ve never fulfilled  or continued, but I always see to it that when I embark on a journey, I will ensure that I reach my destination.

2 thoughts on “Tracks: Decision. Journey. Destination.

Comments are closed.